This is the "Chicago Style Citations" page of the "Chicago Style Citations" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Chicago Style Citations  

Last Updated: Sep 6, 2017 URL: http://cheshireacademy.libguides.com/chicago Print Guide RSS Updates
Chicago Style Citations Print Page
  Search: 
 

Helpful Sites

Creating Bibliographies

The websites listed below can help you generate your "endnotes" or bibliography entires. Remember to select the Chicago Style option when you use these sites!

  • NoodleTools
    Cheshire Academy provided website. Enter the citation information and the website will create your bibliography. This website also allows you create note cards online.
  • Son of Citation Machine
    This site will generate a proper citation If you input the proper information!
  • NCSU Citation Builder
    You enter the information, and this site generates citations in all formats. Make sure you copy and paste the Chicago style format!
  • KnightCite Citation Service
    Make sure you are in the Chicago Style mode on this website.
 

Sample Chicago Style Paper

Source: Diana Hacker (Boston: Bedford/St. Martin’s, 2007).

This paper follows the style guidelines in The Chicago Manual of Style, 15th ed.

 

Basic Citation Examples

Below are some general examples of footnotes and endnotes using the Chicago Manual of Style citation guide. For examples for all types of resources, please visit the links in the left-hand column. Each example below provides the footnote first, and then the endnote (bibliographic entry).

General Model for Citing Books in the Chicago Notes and Bibliography System

Footnote or Endnote:

    1. Firstname Lastname, Title of Book (Place of  publication: Publisher, Year of publication), page number.

 
Corresponding Bibliographical Entry:

Lastname, Firstname. Title of Book. Place of publication: Publisher, Year of publication.

Book by One Author

Footnote or Endnote:

    1. William Faulkner, Absalom, Absalom! (New York: Vintage Books, 1990), 271.

 Corresponding Bibliographical Entry:

Faulkner, William. Absalom, Absalom!. New York: Vintage Books

Online Periodicals (Journal, Magazine, and Newspaper Articles)

Online periodicals are cited exactly as their print counterparts with the addition of a DOI or URL at the end of the citation. See also Periodicals. Also keep in mind that while access dates are not required for formally published electronic sources (journal articles), they can be useful for informally published electronic sources or may be required for by some disciplines for all informally and formally published electronic sources. Access dates should be located immediately prior to the DOI or URL.

Footnote or Endnote:

      1. Kirsi, Peltonen, Noora Ellonen, Helmer B. Larsen, and Karin Helweg-Larsen, “Parental Violence and Adolescent Mental Health,” European Child & Adolescent Psychiatry, 19, no. 11 (2010): 813-822, doi: 10.1007/s00787-010-0130-8.

Corresponding Bibliographical Entry:

Peltonen, Kirsi, Noora Ellonen, Helmer B. Larsen, and Karin Helweg-Larsen. “Parental Violence and Adolescent Mental Health.” European Child & Adolescent Psychiatry 19, no. 11 (2010): 813-822. doi: 10.1007/s00787-010-0130-8.

 

General Model for Citing Web Sources in Chicago Style

Footnote or Endnote:

      1. Firstname Lastname, “Title of Web Page,” Publishing Organization or Name of Web Site in Italics, publication date and/or access date if available, URL.

Corresponding Bibliographical Entry:

Lastname, Firstname. “Title of Web Page.” Publishing Organization or Name of Web Site in Italics. Publication date and/or access date if available. URL.

 

Plagiarism: Pernicious Plague or Preventable Pest

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip